Gary Macdonald – 10 times Scottish Champion

MacDonald Gary(Parade) 06
Gary Macdonald seen here in 2002 at the Scottish Six Days – Photo: Worldwide Copyright: Eric Kitchen

Gary Macdonald, Kinlochleven (MRS Sherco) is the newly crowned 2014 Scottish ACU Premier Trials Champion. This is Macdonald’s tenth Scottish adult title, his ninth in succession (2001 was his first and he has won from 2006 – 2014). This makes Gary the most successful rider in the history of Scottish Trials since the championships began in 1955, making him the 60th winner of the championship. The previous records were held by Leslie Winthrop (8 championships) & Gavin Johnston (also 8 championships). The first winner of the Scottish title was Haddington man A.M. Laurie MacLean who won it three times 1955-1957. Macdonald is the only Scottish trials rider to have ever won a British title, that of British Expert Trials Champion.

Here is a list of all the Scottish Champions since the commencement in 1955.

Scottish Trials Champions

1955        Laurie McLean (A.M.L)

1956        Laurie McLean (A.M.L.)

1957        Laurie McLean (A.M.L.)

1958        Jack Duncan (J.W.)

1959        Jack Duncan (J.W.)

1960        James Adamson

1961        James Adamson

1962        Jackie Williamson (J.D.)

1963        Jackie Williamson (J.D.)

1964        Jackie Williamson (J.D.)

1965        Kenny Fleming

1966        Norman Edgar (N.F.W.)

1967        Norman Edgar (N.F.W.)

1968        Douglas Bald

1969        Norman Edgar (N.F.W.)

1970        Kenny Fleming

1971        Rodger Mount

1972        Rodger Mount

1973        Rodger Mount

1974        Alistair McGillivray

1975        Michael Tye

1976        Alan Poynton (A.A.)

1977        Michael Tye

1978        Robin Cownie & John Winthrop – (Joint winners)

1979        Alistair McGillivray

1980        Roy Kerr

1981        Graham Smith (G.F.)

1982        Gavin Johnston

1983        Gavin Johnston

1984        Leslie Winthrop

1985        Leslie Winthrop

1986        Leslie Winthrop

1987        Leslie Winthrop

1988        Leslie Winthrop

1989        Leslie Winthrop

1990        Leslie Winthrop

1991        Neil Dawson

1992        David Page

1993        Neil Dawson

1994        Crawford Carrick-Anderson

1995        Gavin Johnston

1996        Gavin Johnston

1997        Gavin Johnston

1998        Gavin Johnston

1999        Gavin Johnston

2000       Gavin Johnston

2001        Gary Macdonald

2002        Gary Kennedy

2003        Gary Kennedy

2004        Roger Mount (Jnr)

2005        Leslie Winthrop

2006 – 2014    Gary Macdonald

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s