Tag Archives: Michael Brown

Scott Trial 2016 – Resume


James Dabill (Vertigo) – Photo: John Hulme/Trial Magazine 2016
The annual ‘Scott Trial’ took place on Saturday 22nd October with almost a full start grid, save for those who had to withdraw at the last minute, in Swaledale, North Yorkshire.
The eventual winner was James Dabill from Leeds on his factory 300 Vertigo. This is now his third Scott victory, having won previously in 2010 and 2014 on Gas Gas and Beta machinery.
Scarborough’s Michael Brown (JST Gas Gas 300) was second place overall – Photo: John Hulme/Trial Magazine UK – 2016

The event was organised by Richmond Motor Club, in fact this was their twenty-fifth anniversary of running the Scott on behalf of the Yorkshire Centre ACU. The clerk of course, Paul Robinson appeared satisfied with the event which takes a large team of volunteers to make it all happen, with seventy-six observed sections requiring not only observers but ‘checkers’ as well to ensure that riders are captured at sections efficiently, given that on occassions there is more than one rider in a section at some stage!

Guy Kendrew brought his Beta home in third position overall – Photo: John Hulme/Trial Magazine UK – 2016

The event raises a healthy sum each year which is presented to local ‘Scott Charities’ from programme sales and the charity auction which preceeds the presentation of awards. It is believed the charity auction alone raised in excess of £2,600 on the night.

50 years of Scott wins separate these two riders! Alan Lampkin (BSA) on the left won in 1966, James Dabill (Vertigo) winner 2016 – Photo: John Hulme/Trial Magazine UK – 2016

Winner Dabill appeared both calm and confident at the start field when interviewed, all but briefly, by Trials Guru’s John Moffat who acted as the official start and finish commentator this year.

Scottish rider from Temple, Gorebridge, Mike McNiven (Beta) on Orgate – Photo copyright: Lorenzo Burnet

The Guest of Honour at the awards presentation was the 1966 Scott Trial winner, Alan R.C. Lampkin who handed over the trophy he won fifty years ago to Dabill. Lampkin was a popular presenter with those at the ceremony and is a true enthusiast of the sport.

Women’s Trial World Champion, Emma Bristow (Sherco) came home in 25th place and a Silver Scott spoon, the first female rider to achieve a Scott spoon in the 102 year history of the event – Photo: John Hulme/Trial Magazine UK – 2016

First man home was local Skeeby rider, Jonathan Richardson on his 300 Sherco who set fastest time, a feat he achieved in 2015 on a Beta and was eventual winner in 2011 on a Sherco.

Jonathan Richardson (MRS Sherco 300) on Bridge End was fastest rider, setting standard time at 5 hours and 29 seconds – Photo: Jaxx Lawson

Richardson: “I didn’t have a good day, my observation wasn’t good, I don’t think I’m in with a shout today” he told Moffat at the end of a gruelling seventy plus miles of moor crossings. He had lost seventy-eight marks on observation to Dabill’s thirty-two, so ended up in sixth position overall picking up the Kart House trophy and a coveted Gold Scott Spoon for his efforts. His standard time was 5 hours and 29 seconds.

Previous winner four times, Dougie Lampkin (Vertigo) was out of luck after suffering a problem on the course, seen here at Orgate – Photo copyright: Lorenzo Burnet

The last man home as an official finisher was rider number 65, David Carter who made it in with just one second to spare at 7 hours, 30 minutes and 28 seconds to take the ‘R. Woodward Wilson’ trophy!

When second place man, Michael Brown arrived, apart from being mud-spattered, he looked fairly fresh, but like all of the top ten riders he felt that he could have done better on observation. Many riders having suffered multiple punctures during the day.

Guy Kendrew looked fresh at the finish and reckoned he had a good day at the office, which netted him third position and the ‘White Bear’ trophy for best Northallerton Club member, the Raspin Challenge Bowl for his third place and of course a Gold Scott spoon.

John Moffat interviews Scott Trial 2016 winner, James Dabill at the finish – Photo: John Hulme/Trial Magazine UK – 2016

Full results : 2016-spoons-and-final-results1

Scott Trial Timings 2016: 2016-times

Scott 2016 Results: Courtesy of Richmond Motor Club (Yorks) Ltd – Scott Trial Committee, subject to official confirmation

The 2016 Scott Trial Charity Team (203) who rode to raise funds for Pancreatic Cancer sufferers. From the left: Barry Roads; Kevin Hart; Ray Haslam; Roger Johns and Paul Anstey – Photo courtesy: Mrs. Theresa Roads.

Some of the hard working members of the Scott Committee, club members and other helpers/enthusiasts that make the Scott Trial happen, year in year out – Top Row from left: AG Brown; Ken Wallis; Wayne Anderson; Nigel Cummins; Eric Kitchen; Barry Watson; Greg Porter; Stuart Lowther; Jack Knoops; Barry Robinson. Front row from left: Chris Walls; Charlotte Brown; Diane Horner & Ros Brown – Photo courtesy of Mr. Barry Robinson, Ilkely (Timer image)

Report: Trials Guru – 2016

Photo credits (all copyright):

: John Hulme/Trial Magazine UK

: Lorenzo Burnet

: Mrs. Theresa Roads

: Jaxx Lawson @JOAT’s Imagery

Scott Trial History on Trials Guru: HERE